Boris Lozhkin
President of the Jewish Confederation of Ukraine and Vice-President of the World Jewish Congress

Prominent Ukrainian Jews call on Israel to simplify reception of refugees

Picture of Jewish Confederation of Ukraine

Eighty-five prominent Ukrainian Jews have called on the Israeli government and the Knesset to cancel additional procedures that make it difficult for Ukrainians, including those seeking asylum from the war, to enter. RBC-Ukraine has the text of the statement at its disposal.

Among the signatories are businessman Andrii Adamovsky, journalist Dmytro Gordon, co-president of VAAD of Ukraine Yosyp Zisels, doctor and TV presenter Yevhen Komarovsky, Garri Korogodsky, president of the Jewish Confederation of Ukraine Boris Lozhkin, media manager Yosyp Pintus, People’s Deputy Mykhailo Radutsky, businessman Andrii Stavnitser, President of the FC Dynamo Kyiv Ihor Surkis and People’s Deputy Hryhorii Surkis, TV presenter Savik Shuster, as well as well-known Ukrainian rabbis, businessmen, politicians, cultural and scientific figures.

The signatories thanked Israel for voting at the UN for a resolution in support of Ukraine, public condemnation of Russia’s aggression, humanitarian aid and Prime Minister Naftali Bennett’s efforts for a diplomatic settlement.

However, according to the letter, Israel has introduced additional procedures for Ukrainians, making it more difficult to enter the country, even for tourism and business purposes, as well as introduced quotas for refugees. These measures caused a wave of criticism in the Ukrainian society.

“For many years, Israel has been for Ukraine an example of resilience, heroism and selfless struggle for its freedom and independence. And today, when the whole of Ukraine has come to the defense of its independence, many citizens of Ukraine turn to us with astonishment and indignation regarding the above-mentioned decisions of Israel,” the letter reads.

The signatories also reminded the Israeli officials of the persecution of Jews during the Holocaust, when many countries refused to allow Jewish refugees. At the same time, Ukrainians saved Jews, and today there are about 2,700 such Righteous Ukrainians in Ukraine.

“We are convinced that in the situation of war, closing the door to Ukrainians, imposing quotas and other restrictions is extremely inhumane,” said prominent Ukrainian Jews, calling on the Israeli government to lift the restrictions.

So far, the letter has been signed by 85 people representing the cultural, scientific, political and business elite of Ukraine:

Adamovsky Andrey – businessman and philanthropist

Akinsha Konstantin – Doctor of Sciences, art critic, historian, investigative journalist

Amirov Alexander – entrepreneur

Azman Moshe – Chief Rabbi of Ukraine, Habad Lubavich

Batsman Alesya – journalist and TV presenter

Beilin Mikhail – restaurateur

Bereza Boryslav –Member of Parliament, VIII convocation

Berlin Mikhail – Head of the Supervisory Board, Institute for Road Safety of Ukraine

Bleich Yaakov Dov – Chief Rabbi of Kyiv and Ukraine

Chepurnyak Yevhen – People’s Artist of Ukraine

Fedorik Sergey – Founder and partner of KEY Group

Feldman Oleksandr – Member of Parliament

Frenkel Mikhail – Editor-in-chief, newspaper “Jewish Observer”

Fuchsmann Boris – Founder, Jewish Legal Group of Ukraine

Gartsman Arkady – poet and screenwriter

Gisser Shaya – Rabbi, progressive public figure

Goland Ilya – Master of sports, founder of company “Object service”

Goldenstein Boris – Founder and CEO of Zezman Holding

Goldman Roman – Supervisor, CEO, First Medical Center of Tel-Aviv

Gordon Dmitry – journalist and TV presenter

Gorodetsky Evgeny – founder, NGO “March Babyn Yar”

Grigoriev Maksim – businessman

Girshfeld Anatoliy – President, Ukrainian Engineering Industrial Group

Ioffe Fayina – Director, Jewish Confederation of Ukraine

Karminsky Anatoly – Honored Builder of Ukraine

Keselman Anatoly – Director General, Charity Foundation “Hesed Shaarei Zion”

Kinzburska Victoria – Member of Parliament

Komarovsky Evgeniy – Doctor of medical sciences, writer and TV presenter

Komsky Leonid – gallery owner, founder of the Auction House “Ducat”

Korban Gennady – businessman and politician

Korogodsky Garry

Korotko Alexander – poet

Kostelman Vladimir – majority shareholder,  Fozzy Group corporation

Kotlyarevskaya Ganna – Member of the Supervisory Board, Jewish Confederation of Ukraine

Kozedubov Dmitry – Member of the Supervisory Board, Jewish Confederation of Ukraine

Lemberg Evgeniy – Chairman of the Council of the group of companies “Arikol”

Levinzon Rostislav – President of the Kiev City Jewish Community

Logvinsky Georgy – Member of Parliament, VIII convocation

Loifenfeld Alexander – businessman and philanthropist

Lozhkin Boris – President, Jewish Confederation of Ukraine

Lutsky Alexander – businessman

Malin Alexander – Doctor of Economics, Professor of the National Polytechnic University

Melamud Alexander – businessman and philanthropist

Mets Yefim – Honored Master of Sports

Morokhovsky Maksim – General Director of City Rent Capital, co-founder of the NGO “Odessa Development Institute”

Morokhovsky Vadim – Head of the Supervisory Board of Bank Vostok

Morozov Yury – Member of the Supervisory Board of the JCU

Nisilevich Svetlana – member of the Union of Theater Workers, President of the Guild of Odessa Entrepreneurs

Pechersky Yuriy – Representative of the Chamber of Commerce and Industry of Ukraine in Switzerland and Liechtenstein

Pekar Valery –  teacher

Pertsovsky Oleksandr – Member of the Board of JSC “Ukrzaliznytsia”

Pinchuk Volodymyr – Honored Builder of Ukraine, Laureate of the State Prize of Ukraine

Pintus Joseph – media manager

Pisnoy Pavel – businessman

Ptushkin Anton – blogger

Radutsky Mikhail– Member of Parliament, Chairman, Committee on Health

Remenik Vilen – founder, company VIK-A

Royz Svetlana – child psychologist

Sandler Dmitry – businessman

Shatz Tatyana – art historian, CEO of the cultural and educational project ORMAN

Shengayt Anatoly – Director of the Kiev City Jewish Community

Shereshevsky Vladislav – painter

Shpilfogel Vladimir – President of the East-West Express Company

Shpirt Yury – owner, “ARBER” company

Shuster Savik – TV presenter

Shverk Gryhoriy – Member of Parliament, VIII convocation

Sokolovsky Alexander – founder of the Tekstil – Kontakt group of companies

Stavnitser Andrey – TIS co-owner and CEO

Surkis Grigory – Member of Parliament

Surkis Igor – President, “Dynamo Kyiv” football club

Suslensky Oleksandr – President, All-Ukrainian Jewish Council

Terletskaya Ekaterina – Doctor of Physical and Mathematical Sciences, Head of the Laboratory of Mathematical Sciences, NC MAS

Tripulsky Grigory – lawyer, PhD in Law, Member of the Executive Committee of the Odessa City Council

Vasilevska-Smaglyuk Olga – Member of Parliament

Vugelman Pavel – Deputy Mayor of Odessa

Vaisberg Matvey – painter, graphic and book designer

Yakover Maksim – Member of the Supervisory Board of the Babyn Yar Holocaust Memorial Center

Yeliseev Oleg – General Director of the telecommunications company TENET, Member of the Board of the Telecom Chamber of Ukraine, Head of the Supervisory Board of the Sailing Federation

Yermolaev Vadim – businessman and investor

Zaika Andrey – President, Keren Kayemet Leisrael of Ukraine

Zarazovsky Alexander – businessman

Zisels Yosef – Co-President, VAAD of Ukraine

Zlotnik Oleksandr – Rector, Glier Kiev Municipal Musical Academy

Join me, Boris Lozhkin, on Twitter @lozhkin_boris for news and commentary on Judaism in Ukraine and around the world. Follow me on Facebook for updates on the work of the Jewish Confederation of Ukraine.

Find out more about my work at

About the Author
Boris Lozhkin is a Ukrainian entrepreneur, philanthropist and author. He is President of the Jewish Confederation of Ukraine and Vice-President of the World Jewish Congress.
Related Topics
Related Posts