Alex Shatkhin

US-Europe Sanctions Coalition calls for EU sanctions against Russian oligarchs

US-Europe Sanctions Coalition, which includes senior members of US Congress, members of European and Ukrainian Parliaments, have at the end of 2022 openly appealed to Secretary of State Anthony Blinken and High Representative of the European Union Josep Borrell, and are now calling upon Tobias Billström, Minister of Foreign Affairs of Sweden, to facilitate urgent introduction of sanctions by the European Union against 10 people who have been direclty involved in perpetuating Russia’s genocidal war in Ukraine. During the first six months of 2023, Sweden holds the Presidency of the Council of the European Union.
The list of people subject to sanctions includes Russian oligarchs Vladimir Lisin, Magomed Gadzhiev and Vladimir Potanin, politicians Franz Klintsevich and Ksenia Sobchak, entertainers Steven Seagal, Philipp Kirkorov Igor Krutoy, a Russian state company official Aleksey Likhachov and Ukrainian oligarch Vadym Rabinovych.
Members of the US-Europe Sanctions Coalition Boriana Aberg (member of PACE, Sweden), Gustaf Göthberg (member of PACE, Sweden), Emanuelis Zingeris (member of PACE, Lithuania), Eerik N Kross (member of PACE, Estonia), Arkadiusz Mularczyk (member of PACE, Poland) and Oleksii Goncharenko (member of PACE, Ukraine) call for further enforcement against individuals in the Russian financial, military and media spaces who support and benefit from Vladimir Putin’s ongoing belligerence against Ukraine.
About the Author
Political expert, author of articles and blogs in Israel, Ukraine and EU
Related Topics
Related Posts